What a wonderful week-end to rejuvenate the soul!

After years of enduring cold, wet, rainy, long week-ends in May, this year’s broke the mold and delivered warmth and sunshine!

For me, Saturday started out with a pre-dawn drive through the early morning mists in the hills leading into, and through, Fundy National Park.

Dawn breaking through the mists beside the Bay of Fundy as seen from the look-off in Fundy National Park, NB

Luckily I missed colliding with the young cow moose who was guarding the entrance to the park by standing in the middle of the road. Unluckily, I didn’t have quick and ready access to my camera to document the sighting.

I made my way to Riverside-Albert, site of the Albert County Early Horse Show. Run by volunteers, the show committee placed a lot of emphasis on having fun, camaraderie and affordability. As a result, there were about 80 horses entered and probably close to 100 riders. It was heart-warming to see so many young people participating as many of the more formal shows are experiencing a decline in entry numbers due to ever-increasing costs.

The youngest ones just wanted to have fun…

While others needed to keep in touch between classes…

Since my Dad’s family is from Albert Co., I took a break and drove up the road to visit my parents’ graves. The local cemetery was started in 1892, and I found stones showing relatives born as far back as 1818. And that was just in a few minutes of walking around. As cemeteries go, it’s a lovely spot with beautiful big trees and grand vistas overlooking Shepody Bay.

I even had the opportunity for a quick visit with a cousin who lives nearby – and the chance to make plans for a longer visit in the near future!

Sunday dawned warm and sunny as well. I took a quick jaunt to Norton to watch some friends ride in a hunter-jumper clinic with Alan Wedge. Originally from this general area, Alan now makes his home near Calgary, AB.

Under Alan’s watchful eye, riders like Hetty Smyth concentrated on the task at hand.

Meanwhile, at the Princess Louise Park Show Centre there was a dressage show going on. I dropped in and had great visits with various friends.

Tomorrow is another day and, I’m sure, more photo opportunities. Maybe I’ll even get some gardening done! Holiday week-ends are meant to give us a chance for the three R’s: rest, relaxation and rejuvenation.

Enjoy YOUR long week-end. I am.

One thought on “What a wonderful week-end to rejuvenate the soul!

  1. A day in Albert County always brings surprises, fabulous views, and chance encounters! Sorry I missed you…

Leave a Reply

