Welcome to 2012

A new year usually means new challenges for people, and I am no exception. We’re off and running at Images by Ceci with a photo assignment, two feature article assignments, including photos, and the opportunity to learn a new genre of photography – macro images.

My first work day began with a mother and daughter portrait session. This is my sister Brenda and her younger daughter, Shaye Lyn.

Santa was generous and I have a new macro lens to play with. Loosely translated, that means I need to spend a lot of time learning this new and highly technical genre of photography. I’ve been researching techniques and reading ‘how to’ books and articles like a mad fiend and realize that this may be my biggest challenge yet. The exciting part is being able to (eventually) photograph very tiny objects like the stamen of a flower, the eye of a bug and, hopefully, the sparkle from a diamond ring!

In the meantime, I’m focusing on more mundane objects – like the hair on the beaver’s back on a Canadian nickle!

One thought on “Welcome to 2012

Leave a Reply

