Inspiring is the only word

About a year and a half ago I photographed a little boy and his family as part of the “Littlest Heroes” program. The aim of the program, which spread internationally, was to have professional photographers donate their services to the families of children with life-altering medical issues. In turn, the program would provide a vehicle for increasing awareness about the medical problems facing these children and their families, and the amazing courage with which they all face life head-on.

Nathan was my first “Little Hero” and I must admit I was very nervous about that session. I shouldn’t have worried – he charmed me with his winning smile and we had a wonderful time together – once he realized I was NOT a visiting nurse and my big black bag contained camera gear, not needles and medications!

How could anyone resist these eyes?

My first Little Hero!

Nathan was born with a serious congenital heart defect and he has already had numerous procedures and surgeries in his short life. He takes daily medications and his parents must carefully monitor him. What might be the sniffles for most children could be life-threatening for Nathan.

This week I had the opportunity to spend more time with this gregarious little boy and his family. Now almost three years old, he is awaiting word on the date for yet another surgery. In the meantime, his parents have presented him with a little sister. This time the whole family came to my studio for their family photos.

Todd, Nathan, Susan and Jenna

We have a large and noisy dog – Hoover – but Nathan wasn’t deterred at all. They played enthusiastically between photos, my small house ringing with laughter.

Nathan and baby sister Jenna

Occasionally Nathan was even willing to share the limelight with his new little sister – but at 3 weeks old, she’s not a lot of fun for him to play with – yet.

Susan, Todd and Nathan

Susan and Todd are devoted to their children but at three years old, Nathan could capture any heart. He’s a sweet little boy and one of the most polite children I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting. A clever child, he has an extensive vocabulary and a wonderful sense of humour.

Nathan, the little hero

Nathan truly is a little hero and ‘inspiring’ is the only word I could use to describe him and his amazing family.

Leave a Reply

